What are Trash and All mail folders in ProtonMail and what are they for?
ProtonMail is a one-of-a-kind email solution that focuses on privacy, with end-to-end and zero-access encryptions that guarantee security and confidentiality. Such characteristics make this email platform unique and perfect for those that are looking to avoid third-party tracking, along with similar risky procedures online.
Now, other than that, ProtonMail offers the same experience other traditional email services would, and this includes using default main folders to organize inbox general like Trash and All mail folders. Let´s see how we can use these folders and take the most out of them.
What is the Trash folder in ProtonMail?
Specifically, the trash folder is the container where all of the messages you delete at any given point are stored. This folder actually has the purpose of acting as a backup, in case you delete an email that later on you need to have access to again.
In this way, important information in any message that is deleted remains available anytime. The Trash folder is a default container and is always present in the folder panel to the left of the layout, as you can see in the image below.
If you delete a message, the platform will automatically send it to the Trash folder. To do it, click on any email to check as you normally would. Then, in order to send to the Trash folder, click on the “Move to Trash” option on the tool panel on top of the emails list.
By clicking on this option, a notification shows and the message disappears from the origin folder. If you click on “Trash” on the folder panel to the left, you will be able to see that the deleted message is now in this destination folder.
In case you have deleted the message by accident and you need to return it to the origin folder, in this case the inbox, go to the tool panel on top of the emails list and click on “Move to inbox”. The message will be returned to the origin folder.
On the contrary, if you actually delete the message because it is no longer useful, you can remove it permanently to save some storage space. Do it by clicking on the “Delete permanently” button on the tool panel. This option has an “X” icon.
Note: a prompt window will appear telling you that deleting the message permanently would mean that the information would be lost. Click on “Delete” if you agree.
What is the All mail folder in ProtonMail?
The All mail folder is a general container available in ProtonMail. The purpose of this folder is to find any message quickly, regardless of the container where such email might be. Therefore, the All mail folder shows emails contained in the Inbox, Sent, Drafts, and Archive and Spam folders.
Like in other container, if you click on any message on the All mail folder you will be able to manage such email using the tool panel.